Thoughts (Brief) on Attending My First State Convention

I had the chance this week to attend (as a messenger, no less!) my first ever SBC state convention the past few days, specifically the Missouri Baptist Convention.  I know it has another half day to go, but I can’t make it Wednesday so here are a few brief reflections I had in my day and a half.

1.  Lots of Singing.  There were some good ones too.  But a lot!

2. Stuff happens fast.  There’s little delay for motion discussions, etc.  It’s pretty amazing how much discussion actually does get in during the business sessions, but you have to be on the ball or that thing you wanted to talk about is already voted on and long past.

3. I actually knew some people there!  I don’t know if that’s a good thing or not.

4. I tend to be more “litigious” than I think.  I sort of get a strange kick out of parliamentary procedure and motions, etc.

5. Like most large organization meetings, much of what goes on amounts to “rubber-stamping” the work of smaller groups and committees, unless the issue is one that is more controversial.

6. Enjoyed convention sermon by Pastor and blogger Micah Fries from St. Joseph.  It’s good to see that you’re not the only one who remembers things from studying Philippians for 2 semesters in Intermediate Greek at MBTS.

7. Newly re-elected MBC President Bruce McCoy does his part to combat the spread of diseases.  He put my comparatively shorter hand-washing time to shame in the men’s bathroom.  So good for him!

8. Apparently my uncle was there also, and our paths didn’t cross.

That’s all for now.

2 Responses

  1. Wish I knew you were coming. Would have liked to have met you. I was at the Student Ministry booth.

  2. I was wondering around like a homeless guy on Monday and Tuesday. It was interesting.

Leave a Reply

