“On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness”

A few months ago, I discovered that one of my favorite musicians, Andrew Peterson, is also a published author.  Anyone who has listened to music (his Christmas album, “Behold The Lamb of God” is probably my favorite ever) knows that Peterson is quite gifted in telling a yarn.  And so far, “The Wingfeather Saga” hasn’t caused me to change that opinion.

The first book of the series, “On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness,”  tells the story of the Igiby children in the small town of Glipwood, which is located (no surprise here) on the edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness.  I won’t give much more plot information than that, but I enjoyed reading the book very much.

CS Lewis said that a children’s story that cannot be enjoyed by adults is not really a good children’s story.  The prose is well-written, and the imaginative world Peterson creates is rich and full.  There is both light and darkness in his portrait of Aerwiar, which can’t always be said about books aimed at children. There’s also a few footnotes and an appendix, which are pretty humorous.

The book can probably be read by kids 8 and up.  (Though not having kids of my own, I have no internal clock for childhood reading development.)  It’s the kind of story I think that deserves to be read aloud (perhaps it would be enjoyed even more in that fashion!), so families with younger children might take that option.   I haven’t read the second book “North! Or Be Eaten!” yet, but am looking forward to its arrival in the mail soon.

About a chapter in, I had already decided the books would make great Christmas presents for my 7 and 9 year-old cousins.  Perhaps some of you might consider the same…

Both books available here (and signed by author).

2 Responses

  1. “North! Or Be Eaten!” is even better (and I loved “On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness”).

  2. Good to hear! I would have assumed so since “on the edge” ends with the plot about to really pick up…but now I’ll have to try even harder for patience until the order arrives!

Leave a Reply

