An Elder Brother’s Elder Brother…

Yesterday our pastor preached on the second half of the “Prodigal Son” story in connection with Thanksgiving this week.  Elder brothers are no fun.  Elder brothers are so disconnected from the heart of the Father they end up killing him out of jealousy.  Elder brothers don’t bother trying to rescue their younger brother, a true sign of love for the Father.  They complain when younger brothers get juice on the carpet or turn up the music too loud.  They complain when their preferences are infringed upon by kingdom work.  They just don’t get it.

I really can’t stand elder brother-types.  I wish they understood the heart of Jesus as well as I do or were as willing to sacrifice as I.  I’m really glad to see Jesus taking this parable and turning it into their heart…serves them right.  They deserve to be left out of the party.  The rest of us can have a great time because we loved Jesus rightly and they didn’t.  There’s a sweet satisfaction in seeing the self-righteous get their due comeuppance.

I’m just glad that their pride and self-approving judgments hasn’t brushed off on me…

5 Responses

  1. […] November 23, 2009 by thomastwitchell The main thing about the prodigal story is that in neither case does the Father cut off the sons&#82… […]

  2. The main thing about the prodigal story is that in neither case does the Father cut off the sons’ inheritance. In both cases there are lessons taught and no indication that the elder brother didn’t repent of his attitude. They were both members of their Father’s household. End of story.

    Not quite.

    The one who reads this and condemns the elder brother has revealed that he is an elder brother at heart. For the gist of the story is that the inheritance is not founded upon the actions of men, but rather, upon the shear grace and mercy of the Father. The Father is the focus. The prodigal who leaves home in his flesh and wastes the inheritance but does not do so in heart is easily recognized and the compassion of the Father toward him also. But the prodigal who has never left home in the flesh but has done so in his heart is harder to recognize. Still, the compassion of the Father comes out clearly toward both in this: “Son, you are always with me, and all that is mine is yours.” Surely the Father recognizes the elder prodigals heart is not truly at home, but the Father calls hims son and grants him the same inheritance as the wanderer. Both have wasted their inheritance upon the lusts of their flesh. However, the Father insures both so that they never want of it.

  3. I may have. I think your title tells a tale not unlike what I have posted. I am lacking the hearing of the sermon. My guess is that it isn’t far off from what I have said. Tongue in cheek, I think, speak of the elder brother in your own heart.

    I admit my elder-brotherishness. And hate that he is there. I typically want fairness which if found in justice, not mercy and fail to see that all I have is because of it.

    My older son is fond of his father and takes it upon himself to correct his brother. As I have observed he has a critical eye because he doesn’t remember the times when he was where him’s little brother is at now. The older is on the same page with me in alot of ways, though he doesn’t perceive yet where the rod ends and the staff begins.

    Have a blessed Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

