Ancient Chinese Food Mentioned in Old Testament!

Found in Psalm 106:14, I never knew that the Israelites were lovers of delicious fried Chinese dumplings until now.  Here is the proof, provided by the translators of the ESV:

“But they had a wanton craving in the wilderness, and put God to the test in the desert;”

Did you see it?  Look again:

“But they had a wanton craving in the wilderness, and put God to the test in the desert;”

They craved Wantons.  Delicious, fried, tasty. Who wouldn’t?

Moral of the story: Don’t settle for just reading one translation of the Bible!!  Not only will you miss out on discovering tasty (sorry) gems like this, but often times we need to see a slightly alternate wording to get us to slow down and see things we may not have noticed before. And if you’ve done the work in learning the Biblical languages, you’ll now know how to order Wan-Tons at your favorite Chinese buffet in Hebrew!

(for that one person who read this all seriously, this is all a joke, minus a couple parts of that last paragraph!)

8 Responses

  1. Hahahaha….thats a good one. Never heard that translation before.

  2. Josh,

    I got a good chuckle out of that one. Thanks for sharing it.

  3. Thanks for the comments!

  4. i was hoping this wasn’t a rip on the ESV since the guy who translated psalms for the ESV teaches at my school, but I am craving some chinese food now, thanks

    • Zac,
      Feel free to pass my humble thoughts on to him if you want! I’m reading through the ESV this year (the last read-through was HCSB), and there are pluses and minuses to every translation. I think my next one will be a less formal translation. I find changing keeps me from assuming what certain text say rather than engaging them as I read.

  5. John,

    I’m pretty sure they’re spelled won-tons…but it is still funny!

    • Actually, because of inconsistent transliteration into English, you’ll find a variety of spellings.

      But since we’re talking about spelling, my name’s not John, but I won’t hold it against you.
      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      • Sorry Josh…what an embarrassing mistake! I’ll blame it on a long day of Greek…and not paying attention…please forgive, my former fellow schoolmate!

        Andrew…aka the Higg

Leave a Reply

